Higher education is more important than ever before.

Harold Alfond was a Maine businessman and philanthropist who wanted every Maine baby to have the opportunity that higher education brings.

The Alfond Scholarship Foundation (ASF) is a non-profit organization he created to invest the $500 Alfond Grant at birth for every Maine resident baby for their future education.

For every baby born a Maine residentsince 2013, the Alfond Scholarship Foundation invests a $500 Alfond Grant for his or her future qualified higher education expenses.  The Alfond Scholarship Foundation invests these funds until the child is ready to use them.  The funds can be used for education after high school – college or university, certificate programs and trade schools. And the funds can be used in Maine or out of state. Children awarded the Alfond Grant have until age 28 to use it.

The Alfond Grant was also available on a more limited basis from 2008-2012. Click here to learn more about eligibility.

As of August 2019, $50 million in Alfond Grants has been invested for 100,000 Maine children.

Now it’s up to you to also invest in your child’s future! ASF is here to help with our MyAlfondGrant (MAG) program, sharing resources and information to help Maine children on their journey to higher education.

Help us create a bright future for every Maine child!


Colleen Quint
Colleen Quint is the President & CEO of the Alfond Scholarship Foundation. Colleen is the former founding Executive Director of the Sen. George J. Mitchell Scholarship Research Institute. Over the past 20 years Colleen has served on numerous state and regional commissions and task forces related to educational aspirations, educational attainment, and the development of an educated workforce. She has been a frequent speaker on these topics. Colleen holds a B.A. from Bates College and a J.D. from the University of Maine School of Law.

Colleen can be reached at (207) 347-8638 or via email at [email protected].

Alfond Scholarship Foundation Board of Directors

Steven Akin, Chair
Scott Bullock, Vice Chair
Duke Albanese, Treasurer
Colleen Quint, President/CEO

Christina Cuthbert
Dave Daigler
Steve DeCastro
Jon Fitzgerald
Anne Swift Kayatta
Kim Lipp
Pender Makin
Dannel Malloy
Amanda Vamvakias Rand
Steve Rowe
Jenny Alfond Seeman
Bruce Wagner
William Williamson